Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Rescue Team DX

Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Rescue Team DX

Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Rescue Team DX is a remake of the original Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Red Rescue Team and Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Blue Rescue Team, except remastered and reimagined, and available for the Nintendo Switch as of March 6, 2020.

There are over 400 Pokémon available in the game, although the vast majority of these Pokémon are from the first three generations of Pokémon, sticking true to the original Mystery Dungeon games.

The graphics have been revamped, introducing a storybook look and feel to the game. Gameplay elements have also been modernized, making it a much more streamlined experience than in the original versions.

Starter Pokémon

The 16 possible starter Pokémon in Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Rescue Team DX.

As with the original Pokémon Mystery Dungeon games on the DS and GBA, there are a total of 16 possible starter Pokémon that you can become and that you can have as a partner.

  • Bulbasaur
  • Chikorita
  • Treecko
  • Charmander
  • Cyndaquil
  • Torchic
  • Squirtle
  • Totodile
  • Mudkip
  • Pikachu
  • Meowth
  • Psyduck
  • Cubone
  • Machop
  • Eevee
  • Skitty

At the start of the game, you’re thrown into a personality test to help determine which Pokémon to become. Depending on the answers you choose, you’ll be suggested a certain Pokémon — however, unlike the original games, you can decline that suggestion and instead choose whichever Pokémon you want, regardless of personality or gender.

You will similarly get to choose a partner Pokémon for your journey, although it can’t be the same type as the one you chose for your main character. You can also choose whether your partner is male or female, a choice that was not present in the original games, although one that makes no major difference gameplay-wise.

Gameplay Changes

If you’ve never played a game in the Pokémon Mystery Dungeon series, the controls and gameplay are substantially different from the main series games.

For those of you familiar with the older games, though, here are a few things that have changed from the originals:

  • There are now only three Pokémon that can be on your team at any given moment instead of four.
  • You can change between which Pokémon is the leader almost immediately in the game instead of having to wait until the game has been beaten.
  • There’s a new Auto-Mode for moving around and exploring dungeons, which will cause you to wander around trying to find items and the stairs automatically, although this mode will pause whenever you encounter any enemy Pokémon.


Here are a few screenshots from Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Rescue Team DX:

©2000–2012, 2016–2024 Marriland and its licensors. All rights reserved.
Pokémon characters and names are copyright © The Pokémon Company and/or Nintendo.